General Assembly, local elections on SW Va. ballots

Mike Still • Nov 2, 2019 at 7:30 PM

Voters in Southwest Virginia will choose state legislators, constitutional officers, county supervisors and school board members along with a few town council and soil and water conservation district seats on Tuesday.

Polls will open at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Anyone in line at 7 p.m. will be allowed to vote, according to the Virginia Department of Elections website: www.elections.virginia.gov.

For information on polling places and voting information, call:

Wise County: (276) 328-8331

Norton: (276) 679-1162

Lee County: (276) 346-7780

Scott County: (276) 386-3843

House of Delegates

The 1st District race covers Lee, Scott and part of Wise counties and the city of Norton. Incumbent Republican Terry Kilgore is unopposed on the ballot. In District 4, Democrat Starla J. Kiser and Republican William C. Wampler III seek to succeed Todd E. Pillion. Wise County residents will vote either in the 1st or 4th District contest depending on their precinct, while voters in Norton and Lee and Scott counties will see the 1st District on their ballots. 

State Senate

House 4th District Del. Todd Pillion is running unopposed for the 40th District state Senate seat being vacated by Charles W. Carrico, who is retiring. Incumbent 38th District Sen. A. Benton Chafin Jr.is challenged by independent George W. McCall III. Voters in Wise County will see the 40th or 38th District on their ballot depending on their precinct. Norton voters will vote for the 40th District seat, while Lee and Scott county voters will vote in the 38th District.

Wise County and Norton

Voters have a three-way sheriff’s race and an unopposed commonwealth’s attorney candidate. Assistant Sheriff E. Grant Kilgore faces Democratic challenger Jake A. Elkins and independent Danny C. Mullins on Tuesday’s ballot.

Incumbent Republican Commonwealth’s Attorney C.H. “Chuck” Slemp III is running unopposed for a second term.

Norton voters have no other local ballot contests.

Three incumbents are running unopposed on the Wise County Board of Supervisors ballot: Democrat Fred A. Luntsford Jr. for District 1, independent Steve E. Bates for District 2, and Republican J.H. Rivers Jr. for District 3. Republican James R. Lawson is running unopposed to fill the District 4 seat now held by BOS Chair Dana G. Kilgore, whose term expires at the end of the year.

Incumbent Democratic Commissioner of Revenue Douglas Mullins Jr. and incumbent Treasurer Delores W. Smith are unopposed on the ballot.

The Wise County School Board race sees all four incumbents up for staggered re-election and unopposed: District 4 member and Chair Larry D. Greear, District 1 member Martha B. Jett, District 3 member Vicki Galloway Williams, and District 2 member John N. Graham Jr.

Three incumbent Big Stone Gap Town Council members — Gary Paul Johnson, Robert C. Bloomer and Tyler K. Hughes — are running unopposed for their respective seats.

Lee County

Incumbent Republican Sheriff Gary B. Parsons is unopposed on Tuesday’s ballot, but county voters will see three contested races for the five Board of Supervisor seats.

Republican District 1 incumbent Robert Smith faces independent challenger Thomas Earl Lakins. Two challengers for departing incumbent Republican District 2 Supervisor Nathan Cope’s seat are on the ballot: independent Lewis E. Moore and Republican Sidney J. Kolb. District 3 incumbent Democratic Supervisor Larry R. Mosley is unopposed. In District 4, incumbent Republican Charles Slemp Jr. faces independent challenger Joshua N. Flanary. Republican District 5 incumbent R. Dennis “D.D.” Leonard is unopposed.

Incumbent Democratic Commonwealth’s Attorney H. Fuller Cridlin is unopposed.

Treasurer Rita McCann’s departure leaves a four-way race to succeed her: District 2 Supervisor Nathan Cope and independents Cathy P. Wilder, Johnny A. Lakins and Robert C. “Robby” Wright.

Republican incumbent Commissioner of Revenue Christopher R. Jones is unopposed.

On the school board ballot, four of five incumbents face challengers Tuesday. District 1 member and Chair Michael P. Kidwell faces E. Kyle Chadwell. District 2 incumbent Rob B. Hines faces Wandaleen J. Adams. District 4 incumbent Debbie J. Jessie is running against challenger Very V. Ely, and District 5 board member Pamela D. Fannon faces Garry D. Williams.

In the District 3 school board race, D.J. Barker and Nancy M. “Marsee” Garrett are running for the seat held by Ty Harber.

Scott County

Interim independent Sheriff Chris A. Holder faces three challengers: independent Phillip A. “Tony” McClellan, Democrat Greg L. McMurray and Republican Jeff B. Edds.

Incumbent Republican Commonwealth’s Attorney Andrew L. Johnson, incumbent Democratic Treasurer Mitzi Johnson Owens and incumbent Republican Commissioner of Revenue Debbie C. Dockery are unopposed.

On the Board of Supervisors ballot, 12 candidates are running for the board’s seven seats. Democrat E. Dennis Horton and Stefanie A. Cruby are seeking the at-large seat held by Vice-chair David S. Redwine.

In the District 1 race, incumbent Republican Darrel W. Jeter faces Democrat Patricia J. Kilgore. In District 2, Republican incumbent Marshall Tipton is running against Democrat Maria L.M. Colobro.

District 3 Democratic incumbent Garland J. “Jack” Compton faces GOP challenger Jeremy P. “George” Herron. Republican Michael K. Brickey is unopposed for District 4 Republican supervisor Joe W. Herron’s seat. Incumbent Republican Chair Danny Paul Mann is also unopposed for the District 5 seat.

Democrat Jeffrey Lynn Sloan and Republican Selma G. Hood are vying for the District 6 seat held by Chad E. Hood.

The school board election has 11 candidates for six seats, with four of those races contested. District 1 member David Mark Templeton faces Josh S. Bolling. District 2 member L. Steve Sallee Jr. and District 3 incumbent Linda D. Gillenwater are unopposed.

The District 4 seat is a three-way contest, with D. Stuart Williams, Karen C. “KC” Linkous and William D. “Bill” Houseright seeking to replace departing board member William R. Quillen Jr.

District 5 member Gail L. McConnell is running against Michael R. Edwards, and District 6 member Larry L. Horton faces Robin D. Hood.

Nickelsville voters have one local ballot issue. Danny L. Dixon is running unopposed for mayor.

In Weber City, George C. Lane and Joseph L. “Joe” Alessandrini Jr. are running for an open Town Council seat.

Kingsport Times News Videos